Grimme D3 size limit?

Problems running VASP, runtime errors, technical questions.
Please check whether the answer to your question is given in
the VASP online manual or has been discussed in this forum
previously!

Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
hfruchtl
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:59 am

Grimme D3 size limit?

#1 Post by hfruchtl » Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:09 pm

Folks,
I have a rather large system (>1300 atoms). It's a VdW crystal, so I need dispersion correction. If I try to optimise with IVDW=12, the SCF converges, but then the calculation dies (with signal 9, strangely). Is there a size limit I can get around by increasing a constant somewhere? The version is vasp.5.4.4 (Gamma-point).
Thanks in advance,
Herbert

alex
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:21 pm
License Nr.: 5-67
Location: Germany

Re: Grimme D3 size limit?

#2 Post by alex » Tue Jul 02, 2019 8:57 am

Hi Herbert,

that sounds more like a kill issued by the operating or queueing system. Maybe you run into memory issues?

Cheers,

alex

Post Reply