VASP.6.4.2: internal error in rot.F EDWAV

Problems running VASP: crashes, internal errors, "wrong" results.

Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

ray_38

VASP.6.4.2: internal error in rot.F EDWAV

#1 Post by ray_38 » Tue Nov 21, 2023 3:59 pm

Hello,
I faced a bug when I performed geometry optimization of a spin-polarized metallic slab with "ALGO=Damped + NBANDS > Default".
"internal error in: rot.F at line: 803
EDWAV: internal error, the gradient is not orthogonal 11 1 1.282e-3
If you are not a developer, you should not encounter this problem.
Please submit a bug report."

All input- and output files are put in a tar file, and VASP.6.4.2 was compiled with the following environment.
Intel oneapi 2023.0.0, AMD E7763, VTSTcode-198

Because I am a very beginner with VASP, I am not sure if it is a bug or my wrong calculation settings.
I hope this report will contribute the community.

P.S.
If I use "ALGO=Normal, NBANDS=Default", there are no bugs. However, the SCF calculation was never converged with dE > 0.1E+03 even after >90 SCF steps.
Are there any strange settings in my calculation?

Best.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

fabien_tran1
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: VASP.6.4.2: internal error in rot.F EDWAV

#2 Post by fabien_tran1 » Thu Nov 23, 2023 2:16 pm

Hi,

This is a problem that has already been reported, but it is not really clear what is the reason. A possible explanation may be that the shapes of the density and potential are at some point very unreasonable, leading to technical problems in the minimization algorithm.

A way to avoid the crash is to use ALGO=Conjugate, which however may lead to a very slow convergence of the calculation (according to my test dE decreases quite steadily but slowly, so be patient).